holding hands

There is something about two overstuffed chairs, sitting side by side, that warms my heart.

One of the hardest parts about being an introvert is balancing the exhaustion that comes from being with people and the boredom that results after too much time by myself. Though it is wonderful in many ways, a day filled with coffee with friends, church, or other random adventures generally leaves me simply wanting to be home in my pajamas. Going to work often has the same effect. And yet, there is only so much alone time that I can really take. So, the two chairs, side by side, with each of its occupants happily engrossed in their own world, presents the perfect solution. And the holding hands? Well, that’s just the cherry on top.

https://i1.wp.com/solarskistudio.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/03_PixarUp_EdwardEllie1.png

p.s. You know this scene in Up? That’s what I’m talking about.

4 responses to “holding hands

  1. As an introvert, I totally get when the exhaustion felt when hanging out with lots of people. I’ve gotten to a point in my life that I know this and have no problem with finding a room and closing the door on the world to recharge. It really is like recharging a battery.

    The opening sequence of Up is possibly the best and saddest love story ever. Plus it’s less than 10 minutes!

  2. I know exactly what you mean! I used to get so lonely and bored holed up by myself all the time, but going out and doing anything just exhausted me. Then I had kids. Now I’m just exhausted all the time and never alone. 🙂

    Thanks for following me at Momsasaurus. I like your writing style!

    • Well, I’m glad I have that to look forward to! I’ll make sure to enjoy my alone time while I still have it =) And you’re welcome- I definitely enjoyed what I saw on your site and can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

