goodbye, salt

To those of you who know me well, this may come as a bit of a shock…I went a week without putting salt on my food. That’s right. Should I say it again? Seven full days. No salt.

I don’t know when it was that I became the girl who put salt on everything. Sometime in middle school, I think? I have distinct memories my seventh-grade self sitting in the food court at the mall sucking on a pack of soy sauce. Ew. It was not my proudest moment.

But regardless, it happened. And the fifty-six thousand times that I put salt on my breakfast, lunch, and dinner since then also happened. And we’re not talking about just french fries here: we’re talking everything from salad to pizza to brownies (which is kinda becoming cool now, go figure). Even if the food was perfectly seasoned when it was placed in front of me, I grabbed a salt shaker before even trying it. I’ve even been know to pour it into the palm of my hand and eat it straight up. But that’s enough oversharing. You get the point. And now you understand why it is that I’m excited that I went a whole week without doing it. It was time to combat the habit.

And here’s my conclusion: if you make food well in the first place, there is no need to add anything. So, there: another bucket list item completed. Let’s hope this one sticks.

DSC_0634

p.s. That’s a pizza Will and I made this week. Yummy.

p.s.s. Many thanks to Genie from Bunny. Eats. Design. for inviting me to participate in March’s “Our Growing Edge” event. Check out her site and the site of this month’s host, Danielle from Keeping Up With The Holsbys, for some great reading about people who are crossing off their own food-related Bucket Lists. Thanks, Genie!

 

our-growing-edge-badge

 

 

3 responses to “goodbye, salt

  1. I saw this at Keeping Up With the Holsbys too and think it’s a great idea. Kudos to you for jumping on board! Apparently I have commitment issues….

  2. Pingback: the bucket list | Let the Words Escape

Leave a Reply

