in our garden

When Will moved into his current abode, one of the first things we did was put together a little window garden. The two of us sat on his couch as I sketched a blueprint of our vision with a sharpened pencil, then together, we marched off to Home Depot and built two shelves to fit into the front window. We bought a couple of succulents and cut clippings from my mom’s existing herb garden, transplanting basil and oregano and rosemary. And a little garden was born. Since then, we’ve carefully added plants, watered and fertilized, pruned and transferred the fast-growing to larger pots.

Here’s one side…

DSC_0645

DSC_0651

…and here’s the other.

DSC_0644

DSC_0667

The whole area is so bright and green and alive. I can’t stop looking at it.

DSC_0656

DSC_0652

DSC_0661

DSC_0648

Isn’t this guy adorable? One day, I’ll get a hedgehog and fox to keep him company.

DSC_0674

DSC_0669

DSC_0632

I am thrilled, absolutely delighted, by the result of our work. It is, in truth, a constant source of joy. When I was growing up, my mom used to say that there should be something living in every room of the house… she was right.

Also, if you’re a fan of the silverware markers (I know I am!), you can find them here.

5 responses to “in our garden

  1. I approve this message :-). Especially the numerous succulents!

  2. Thank you for linking to our herb markers! What a lovely meditative spot you have created.

    • Thank you =) and you are SO welcome. They are so lovely that I couldn’t resist… actually, I have several more on my “wish list” now, so you may be hearing from me soon!

  3. Pingback: artisan bread, the easy way | Let the Words Escape

Leave a Reply

